Living in the Shoes of a Woman in the Spanish Civil War for a Week

Hope everyone had a good reading break! Although this novel wasn’t one I’d prefer to read during the break due to it being emotionally draining and a little slow, it was still surprisingly a thought-provoking read due to the evolution of a young woman. At least for the books I signed up so far, I realized that this is another novel where gender is a prevalent topic. It’s about Natalia, a young woman in Barcelona who grows and learns about what it means to be a woman during a civil war in the 30s. She’s extremely naive in the first half of the book. It’s said that her mother passed away and the she never really had a good portrayal of unconditional love growing up or a sense of guidance through the world she lives in. This results in her making some interesting choices and being a pushover at first, “because that’s how I was. It was hard for me to say no if someone asked me to do something.” Her biggest choice was probably leaving Pere for Quimet — who could never redeem himself in my eyes throughout the story. She ends up in a relationship where she is constantly being controlled or caught in an imbalance. Although the things Quimet did to her would be considered a bigger deal today, he still: took her away from her marriage; gave her a pet name that she preferred not to go by; monitored all the men she spoke to; did considerably less work than Natalia to support their family and much more.

So really, every page I turned, I found myself just annotating about how annoyed I was by Quimet. I also vividly remember him being the definition of delusional and a gaslighter when he accused Natalia of seeing Pere again when she was sure she never did. I know that the things that occurred to Natalia were legitimate things that could happen to women but I would constantly ponder on how unfair it was that we even had to go through that. Like a lot of others said, the unfortunate events she underwent made me feel extremely empathetic towards her. It also forced her to mature and realize that she needed to be resilient in the patriarchal society she lived in. One that: made the division of labour between her and Quimet so unjust that as soon as he died, she became just another number in society without meaning or any financial stability; misinformed or chose to neglect women’s value. An example of this misinformation was when Natalia spoke of having sex with Quimet for the first time: “I’d always been afraid of that moment. They’d told me the path leading to it was strewn with flowers and the one going away was strewn with tears. And that joy leads to disillusionment. Because when I was little I’d heard people say they rip you open.” And to add an anecdote regarding the division of labour in the novel, it reminded me of Florence Pugh’s monologue in Little Women talking about how being a woman in the past didn’t mean anything or that you could do much without a husband.

As much as I still have a lot to say, I’ll end things off by saying how I admired Natalia’s resilience throughout a lonely and difficult parenthood while being suffocated from the many other expectations society put on women. I’d also like to add that another reason why I probably found this a little slow but still interesting was how I felt that the story wasn’t about anything crazy but could speak to many women’s experiences. This story may specifically connect to mothers or those who may feel that they don’t have everything figured out or how some things may be holding them back. It’s all kind of about ordinary people but also shows how the circumstances we face and the people that come and go can affect us.

6 responses to “Living in the Shoes of a Woman in the Spanish Civil War for a Week”

  1. “a little slow”

    Hmm, what struck me on re-reading it was how fast it goes! Before we know it, for instance, Natalia’s kids are of marrying age. It covers a lot of ground in relatively few pages.

    “the story wasn’t about anything crazy”

    I’m not sure exactly what you mean by this, but if you mean that nothing dramatic happens… well, there’s three marriages, two births, multiple deaths, a civil war, almost a murder-suicide, visions of hands coming down from the ceiling to shake Natalia’s children…

    And I wonder what you thought of Natalia’s second husband, and everything that happens in the second half of the book?

    Like

    1. Thanks for the questions! Regarding me saying “the story wasn’t about anything crazy,” I guess I said that due to being so used to reading more of fantasy books in recent years. So I’m more used to “crazy stuff” being magical creatures fighting the protagonist and stuff like that. However, now that you’ve brought your point up and I’ve reconsidered my point, I definitely see how the events in this novel “are” crazy. I think it was a moment of forgetting how just because the events in the book are driven by human behaviour — failed marriages, births, deaths, war — it doesn’t make it not crazy.

      As for my thoughts on the second half, I’d say I was also one of those readers that felt uneasy at her close decision to kill herself and her children. And when ‘big Antoni’ (as I like to call him to not confuse him with her son) came along, it felt almost like a breath of fresh air, especially since he wasn’t the traditional toxic portrayal of a man. Although he knew that the war made him a changed man and he didn’t have the most to offer to Natalia, he was the opposite of Quimet and became content with the family and new life Natalia provided.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi I also found that the book was extremely slow especially in the starting when we were just getting settled into her relationship with Quimet but I think once the setting is set the book takes a rapid turn and accelerates throughout the rest of her life. I like how you related this to little women however I don’t think Natalia was half the character as Florences as she was more passive

    Like

    1. This comment is from Farahnaz

      Like

  3. I found that this novel gave me a greater level of understanding and empathy for people who are trapped in abusive relationships. I find that topic easier to understand conceptually than emotionally. I think the writers ability to portray the influences of her parents relationship and her low self-esteem in her choice to stay with Quimet to be incredibly informative. I felt for her, and I think its a sad realization that many women go through what she did, and how hard it can be to get out of those kinds of toxic relationships.

    Like

  4. Oh I also forgot to include my discussion question! Do you feel that how the novel ended indicated a happy life for the rest of Natalia’s life?

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started