Freud would have a field day with “Agostino”

I thought I was the only one that thought of Freud when reading this short novel but after reading a few other blog posts, I’m glad to know that I’m not the only one. I’ll start off with my initial thoughts of the book. I like to go into some reads without knowing what to expect and “Agostino” definitely wasn’t what I expected because I thought that I’d be reading a silly little novel about time spent at the beach. Again, I also wasn’t the only one to think that this novel was quite weird and at times uncomfortable. This was probably due to the sensual descriptions of Agostino’s mother that were visible right from the beginning —even before Agostino’s innocence was taken from him. Weird enough that I sometimes thought I was going delusional and would say, “Wait what?” out loud.

The two largest central themes or ideas I found that the novel contained were impurity staining innocence and the objectification of women. The objectification and sexualization of specifically Agostino’s mother is portrayed through his narration of his extremely complicated and fluctuating relationship with her. To start off my thoughts on this event, something small I noticed that contributed to the idea of objectification was how she was never given a name. This already lessened her value as a person and especially as a woman. In the beginning of the novel, he viewed his mother as dignified and serene and valued her affection. This eventually turned into cruelty as he sees how she acts with the young man and feels confused as to why her affection is being shared and why she was acting different than usual —it almost felt like a betrayal of his perception of her. Along with this cruelty came his awareness of how he began to sensually viewed her, as hanging around the boys tore him away from innocence —exposing him to the reality of sexuality. So not only does Agostino become a prick of a man by blaming his mother herself for his changed perspective but he also uses the “tactic” of only seeing her as a woman to prevent her from being a threat to his desires. He continues to use this tactic even after his trip to Rio and when he’s in a crisis of the new irreversible stage of life he has entered. How I interpreted this tactic was that Agostino viewed women simply as unloveable objects that thus couldn’t be desired. I then found his tactic ironic because he says he uses it to suppress further sexualization and objectification, yet stating a woman is “just a woman” to insinuate that they’re worth no more is the most objectifying thing one can do. So at this point, I caught myself thinking that this kid must be crazy.

I also then interpreted his misunderstood situation with Saro and the boys as a little taste of his own medicine. He realizes the dark period he entered due to how uncomfortable the boys made him by acting corrupted and Saro staying implicit. He unknowingly faces a form of sexualization.

So to conclude and prevent myself from going on too much of a rant of how disgusting objectifying women is, “Agostino” was wild and I wonder what prompted Moravia to write about it. What do you guys think prompted Moravia to write “Agostino”?

9 responses to “Freud would have a field day with “Agostino””

  1. If there’s one thing we can all agree on, it’s that this novel is not stupid at all! Yes, there is discomfort and misunderstanding. How does the narrator of this story play with our expectations? Is there any element of irony in the way we discover the events that are told to us along with the protagonist?

    Like

  2. gabriella desire Avatar
    gabriella desire

    Hi Angel!

    I totally agree that the book had some uncomfortable sensual moments that definitely objectified his mother. I will add though that he still is just a kid and the lack of a father figure might also affect the way he understands the world around him. Not excusing all the things he did but does make him a more understandable character. Now for your question, I would say this could be related to something Moravia himself experienced. Maybe he was trying to share with readers his own perspective on childhood and discovering sexuality at that age?

    Like

  3. Hi there! I think Moravia wrote this book with influences of his experience. Its difficult to say exactly why he wrote it, but I would like to say it is a form of artistic expression with hints of personal experiences and traditions.

    Like

  4. Hey Angel! I agree, super uncomfortable read. But then again, that’s life growing up! Although Agostino’s case may be on the more extreme side of things, I think that we all go through struggles of questioning our identity, attraction, sexuality, and how we relate to stragners in comparison to those we already know as we grow up. I think this novel represents a blown up version of all the struggles we face during this tough period… but thank god this is a fiction novel.

    Like

  5. Hey Angel. I’d say Moravia was trying to bring up a topic that by making us uncomfortable shows us how taboo it is in our daily lives and makes us reflect on this “far away” reality. Perhaps a personal experience from Moravia, but if not, definitely someone else’s experience, we should acknowledge that there are people who were abused or pressured into situations or topics, and where their brain was literally structured in this way, leaving them with a mentality that they can’t escape easily.

    Like

  6. Hi Angel, I too found this story greatly uncomfortable and the objectification of Agostino’s mother from Agostino himself was a little insane to read. The way I view books that cause me to wiggle in discomfort is similar to your question, why would an author write this. From my interpretation, I think that Agostino wanted to reflect back on youth and create a time-capsule than encapsulated the difficult feeling boys must navigate to understand sexual emotions. While I didn’t sexualise my mother, I did need to figure out how I felt about sex as an act and the emotions involved with it, and I think in a society dominated by hegemonic ideals, it’s tough to escape the constant pressure to learn quickly.

    Like

  7. I think like how we discussed in class, this book really was less Freudian and more curiosity. Id like to think that he wrote this from his own life experiences because I would find it more interesting in that sense. He also could have wrote it to shed lights on the inner workings of a male mind, maybe because he got judged for thinking these things when he was a child.

    Like

  8. Hello!

    loved reading your insights, I feel like Moravia might have written this book as a slice of life / relatable novel for some. A insight into the mind of young adult hood, one that is ucfoconrtable and awkward (similar to how the reader feels). At first I didn’t see that but after out class discussion I see how Agostino can be relatable to the ups and downs of growing up

    Like

  9. Hi Angel! Thank you for your thoughts. This book was also nothing like I was expecting. To your question, I think Moravia wanted to explore the idea of growing up and sexuality but from a different and uncomfortable lens, which I would say he succeeded in. Thanks for this!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started